Staff Directory

Administration

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Gary Plunkett
Director of Kinesiology and Athletics
760.773.2581 gplunkett@collegeofthedesert.edu
Angel Meraz
Athletic Counselor
760.568.7519 ameraz@collegeofthedesert.edu
Huitzi Montalvo
Sr. Equipment Manager
760-674-7636 hmontalvo@collegeofthedesert.edu
Jill Buttles
Athletic Program Asst. / Eligibility (Tracers)
760.773.2591 jbuttles@collegeofthedesert.edu
Judy Howard
Administrative Assistant
760-862-1318 juhoward@collegeofthedesert.edu
Brian Sylva
Sports Information Specialist
760.423.6641 bsylva@CollegeOfTheDesert.edu
Todd Conger
Athletic Trainer
760.773.2586 tconger@collegeofthedesert.edu
Valerie Calderon
Athletic Trainer
760.776.7311 vacalderon@collegeofthedesert.edu
Brenda Valdez Nava
Part-time Athletic Trainer
bvaldeznava@collegeofthedesert.edu

Baseball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Sam DiMatteo
Head Coach (Pending Board Approval)
724.622.7682 Sam_DiMatteo@yahoo.com

Men's Basketball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Trent Skinner
Head Coach
515.554.5626 tskinner@collegeofthedesert.edu
Jerome "Pooh" Richardson
Assistant Coach
Caleb Gervin
Assistant Coach
Robert Romero
Assistant Coach
Ivery Thompson
Assistant Coach
Bill Grotenrath
Strength Coach

Men's Cross Country

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Nellie Carrillo
Head Coach
760.346.8041 Ext. 5689 ncarrillo@collegeofthedesert.edu
Luis Pimentel
Assistant Coach
760.766.6446 lpimentel@collegeofthedesert.edu

Football

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Jack Steptoe
Head Coach / Director of Football Operations
760.773.2584 jsteptoe@collegeofthedesert.edu
Ben Knapp
Defensive Coordinator & Recruiting Coordinator
Beknapp@collegeofthedesert.edu
Jeff Tebelak
Offensive Line Coach & Run Coordinator
Tony Parise
Running Backs Coach
Jimmy Awolesi
Outside Linebackers/Strong Safety Coach
Singor Mobley
Corner Backs Coach
Tyler Roberts
Defensive Line Coach
Craig Jordan
Assistant Defensive Line Coach
Mike Knapp
Linebackers Coach
Samuel “Sam” Corrigan, Ed. D.
Special Teams Coordinator
Doug Smith
Tight Ends Coach
Samuel Gomez
Wide Receivers Coach

Men's Tennis

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Guy Fritz
Head Coach
760.773.2591 gfritz@collegeofthedesert.edu
Trent Skinner
Assistant Coach
515.554.5626 tskinner@collegeofthedesert.edu
Craig Robinson
Volunteer Assistant Coach

Women's Cross Country

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Nellie Carrillo
Head Coach
760.346.8041 Ext. 5689 ncarrillo@collegeofthedesert.edu
Luis Pimentel
Assistant Coach
760.766.6446 lpimentel@collegeofthedesert.edu

Women's Soccer

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Garrett Estrin
Head Coach
760.333.2585 gestrin@collegeofthedesert.edu
Jorge Polanco
Assistant Coach
Emilia Jimenez
Assistant Coach
Analise Anzaldua
Assistant Coach
Helen Estrin
Volunteer Assistant

Men's Soccer

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Enrique Cardenas
Head Coach
760.396.7590 ecardenas@collegeofthedesert.edu
Manuel Hurtado
Head Assistant Coach
Patohurtado22@gmail.com

Women's Golf

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Erin Lind
Head Coach
406.239.0866 elind@collegeofthedesert.edu

Women's Volleyball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Detlev Rothe
Co-Head Coach
760.409.2740 drothe@collegeofthedesert.edu
Marion Champion
Co-Head Coach
Dana Graham
Assistant Coach
760.485.1424 danag65@me.com
Jon Skramstad
Assistant Coach
760.485.9071 skrammy@verizon.net

Women's Basketball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Kendyl Rizea
Head Coach (Pending Board Approval)
925.595.5975 krizea@collegeofthedesert.edu

Beach Volleyball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Detlev Rothe
Co-Head Coach
760.409.2740 drothe@collegeofthedesert.edu
Marion Champion
Co-Head Coach
Dana Graham
Assistant Coach
760.485.1424 danag65@me.com
Jon Skramstad
Assistant Coach
760.485.9071 skrammy@verizon.net

Softball

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Garrett Estrin
Head Coach
760-333-2585 gestrin@collegeofthedesert.edu
Daisy Macias
Assistant Coach
Helen Estrin
Volunteer Assistant

Men's Golf

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Thomas Mainez, Jr.
Head Coach
760.773.2591 tmainez@collegeofthedesert.edu

Women's Tennis

Name Title Phone E-Mail
Morgan McIntosh
Head Coach
COD Women's Tennis
760.578.8367 mmcintosh@collegeofthedesert.edu